top of page
  • The Green Pages

Student Spotlight

With this school year coming to an end, we would like to highlight some stellar students for their athletic and academic achievements. These four students are Kennedy Hood, Takieto Palmer, Makayla Grimes, and Kawan Ellerbe James Jr. All who have GPAs over 3.5 and all varying degrees of merit at Morrow high school.


For instance Kennedy Hood has a 3.6 GPA who has many athletic and academic accomplishments. She accomplished many things:


- a GHSA track and Field finals

- GHSA Regional Meet Champion

- Honor roll student

- Leaders of tomorrow (leadership development program)

- Governor's program nominee


When we asked Kennedy Hood how she felt about the spotlight she earned she had this to say “I thought that it was a great accomplishment, I also saw myself getting that so it was a goal I achieved.” And when asked who helped bring her to this point she said her mother and her whole support system got her there.


Another one of our seniors Takieto Palmer who has a 3.7GPA is on the A/B Honor Roll and was the athlete of the year and received a principal's award in the 8th grade. When we asked Takieto how he felt about earning his spot in the student spotlight he said


"I like being a role model to my fellow peers, I worked hard to get there. I was very happy and proud to get that recognition after all my hard work.”

Kawan Ellerbe James Jr. with a 3.9 GPA and was an A and A/B Honor and earned the Coach’s award. When we asked Kawan who helped him get to where he is today he had this to say “I would have to say my family helped me develop my mindset, they’ve always told me to be a scholar before an athlete and I’ve incorporated that into my everyday life.


As for our last senior spotlight, we have Makayla Grimes who was an MVP her 10th grade year and was in the National Honor Society. She was also accepted into the Girls Recode Club and was a Leader of her GEMS church group. For Makayla she was excited in receiving the spotlight for her achievements as she stated


“I feel like it’s well deserved, I worked hard all 4 years achieving and accomplishing many goals academically and athletically.”

When asked who helped her the most in her achievement, she states “Coach Walker always made sure I was on top of the game on and off the court.”

100 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Spring Sports Updates

Spring Sports have come and gone . . . and the teams continue to work and move forward. They work hard on the field and work hard in school. Yet - how do they do it? So, we asked athletes at Morrow Hi

bottom of page