top of page
  • The Green Pages

Valentines Day

Love is in the air this season. From the couples crowding the halls to the ones bidding farewell at dismissal you can find them everywhere. With so many couples all around us, the concept of what love is, is always in question, but for every couple in this school love means something different to them. Let's see dig into that.


With this being the second month of the school year, and lots of new students attending our school, love is a coutinus topic that we face at every corner. Let's see what our students have to say.


Tanyla Vereen


One of our Morrow mustangs Tanyla Vereen shared her experience with her boyfriend Sincere Love. When asked how they met she said the following:


“Me and my partner were classmates when we first met and always had eyes on each other. I was too shy to say something . . .” When asked what are some key components of a relationship she said:

A major key component of me would be trust, everything else will fall in place. Expressing your love, reassurance, and uncomfortable conversations.”

India Foster


Another young mustang India foster met her partner in a similar way saying that: “We had been cool since 6th grade and finally in 8th grade we started talking a little more than before, and formed a connection.” When asked “What do you feel like could be the main thing to lead to a good happy relationship?” she had this to say:

“Boundaries, trust, and uncomfortable conversations are definitely the main components to keep a good, healthy relationship.

When in a relationship, you need to accept the fact that every day isn’t going to be a good one. This is where the uncomfortable conversations may come along.”


Don't forget yourself too!


Best of luck to all of our Morrow couples this 2022 school year. With relationships being a major factor in everyone's life, we often forget to care about ourselves. Often in the pursuit of love we neglect ourselves and our own needs which can affect the way we express love to others. Some good practices for self love is being patient yet attentive with yourself. Give yourself time to process certain aspects of your life and give yourself the emotional space to properly feel everything.


Hannah Russell


“I show myself self love by being myself and taking care of myself.”I make sure I worry about myself first and treat myself to whatever I want.”

And this is what she said to maintain the love she has for herself:


“I think it’s as simple as not talking bad about yourself or making yourself smaller. Like when you mess up avoiding calling yourself dumb and things like that. I’m pretty bad about that but I try to avoid talking badly about myself and I think it really helps.”


How would I showcase my self love?


“This Valentine I’m not gonna let seeing cute couples diminish my self worth. Sometimes seeing happy couples makes people feel less than because they can’t find something like that for themselves, so they think something must be wrong with them. But I believe that if something was meant to be it will come, and to be patient. I also don’t really think Valentine's Day is an important holiday regardless if I’m single or not so it doesn’t affect me that much.”


So really . . .


A handful of people may not even think about self love as much as they should because it's not really taught nor focused on in mainstream media.


One of the reasons for this is that loving yourself is extremely hard. It might even be one of the hardest things someone might ever do in their life as there are lots of things we don’t like about ourselves and wish we could change. The point of self love is to love the aspects of yourself that society has told us is undesirable or shouldn't be felt at all. Loving yourself doesn't just stop there, it's a constant state of growing into who you are and who you want to be, and accepting the parts in which you can and can't do.


So this year let's focus on loving ourselves as much as we love others. Even if you're in a relationship there are self-love practices you can do with your partner. The amount of love you have for yourself is endless; it just starts with you and the passions for your dreams!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page